Originally cultivated by the Aztecs and Incas, amaranth was a staple of pre-Columbian, Meso-American cuisine. Amaranth is actually considered a pseudo-cereal and is therefore not related to wheat or other true grains. Amaranth flour has attracted a lot of attention in recent years due to the fact it is gluten-free and high in protein. Besides its use in baked goods, amaranth flour can also be used to thicken sauces and soups.
Amaranth flour has a light tan color and is often described as having a nutty or grassy flavor which is more pronounced than other non-gluten grains. It is typically blended with other gluten-free flours (although it can be blended with flours containing gluten) due to it having a tendency to increase the browning of baked goods.